Spring/Summer Nail Polish 2014

With the temperatures heating up and the snow melting (if you had as much as we had this winter!), the question on my mind is what colour should I paint my nails. My toes and fingers have been sporting nudes, neutrals and dark hues these last few months. It is now time for bright and bold colours. I planned to jump straight into summer with the colours on my nails, but after doing my research I will be buying several spring tones because they are just so beautiful! Spring has a lot of taupes, neutrals and blues, while summer includes punchy yellows, oranges and neons. Although I cannot pull off yellow due to my skin tone and complexion, if you can, please rock it this summer for me! The following list mostly includes salon/spa name brands (some might be found at local drug stores). The main reason is because I am an aesthetician I tend to prefer better quality. While saying this I know other brands found at Sephora for example may be great too, this is just a personal preference. There are the some other brands thrown in because I have worked for or used their products and have fallen in love with the quality and colours!
SPRING

From OPI there are some more neutral shades like I Sao Paulo Over ThereTaupe-less Beachor Don’t Bossa Nova Me Around from the new Brazil collection. There is a lovely pink shade Kiss Me I’m Brazilian and two more subtle orange shades: Where Did Suzi’s Man-go? and Toucan Do It If You Try.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Essie’s spring collection includes pastels, blues, and one punchy crimson. The blues include: Hide and Go Chic and Truth or Flare. The pastels include: Fashion Playground, Romper Room, and Spin the Bottle. The bright crimson in the spring collection is Style Hunter. Image   One of my favourite nail polish companies is Orly. Their spring collection Blush boasted lovely, feminine tones that transition well from winter to spring. Something I always love is the play on words with nail polish names and Orly always does a good job. This spring they released simple taupes, a burnt orange, and a muted blush: CheekyClassic Contours, Dare to BareFirst BlushFlawless Flush, and Naked Canvass. Although yellow is the most popular colour this summer, Orly has a lighter yellow for your transition from winter to spring and then spring to summer: Melodious Utopia (Hope & Freedom Fest collection)

Orly BLUSHOrly Spring Yellow

I worked for Nars Cosmetics several years ago as a makeup artist and fell in love with their products! The new cantaloupe orange, Wild Dancer, for spring is beautiful and I know the quality is great! Another great colour out this spring is mint, it is also a summer colour, but I love it as a transition colour. #5002 by Dermelect is gorgeous because it has a lovely shimmer 🙂 Another brand that is getting a lot more recognition for Butter London, and I love the caramel colour Trallop for spring!

Nars Spring Wild DancerDermelect Mint Butter London

SUMMER

Part of the Brazilian spring/summer 2014 collection from OPI is a bright yellow called I Just Can’t Cope-acabana and Red Hot Rio, a nice hot red. There is also a bright coral, Live.Love.Carnival and a dark teal with subtle shimmer called AmazON…AmazOFF

Image ImageImageImage

I am in love with Essie’s summer collection! I love the neon, bright colours because they make me think of fun times and late summer nights. First up is a neon pink, Too Taboo – I cannot wait to rock this colour! Next there is an electric violet, Chills and Thrills and intense lavender, Sittin’ Pretty. I am in love with the neon turquoise (on my to buy list!) which is appropriately named I’m Addicted. The last two colours are a neon lime, Vices Versa and a florescent coral, Serial Shopper (also an appropriate colour for my life!) Image Orly is always doing something new with their collections and I cannot get over how amazing their products have become in the last few years. This year’s BAKED collection is possibly my favourite for one main reason, it is more resistant to chipping. We all hate when we have just painted our nails and after a little heavy work they begin to chip at the corners, or sometimes in my case, the whole polish comes off. I have yet to try this new collection (but I promise to pick one up in the next few days!), Orly describes BAKED as being “infused with heat-treated pigments, specialty micas and minerals that deliver an ultra-smooth application and maximum color payoff PLUS Vitamins A, E and B5 to help nourish and protect nails.” This collection boasts wonderful, vibrant summer colours including: AblazeHot Tropics, LushNeon Heat, Saturated, and Tropical Pop. I will keep you all posted about the promise of protected nails with less chipping! I also love One Night Stand and Passion Fruit from the Choose Your Colour, Change Your World collection. Another fun summer colour, Mayhem Mentality comes from the Mash-Up collection. Orly BAKED

Orly Summer One Night and Passion Fruit Orly Summer Mayhem

For summer Nars released another deep geranium, opaque polish called LibertangoAnother Butter London favourite for summer is Airy Fairy, this turquoise shimmer is sure to garner attention! Shimmer is a great “go to” summer staple. Look for Butter London’s Knackered or Pistol Pink

Nars Summer LibertangoButter London Airy FairyButter London KnackeredButter London Pistol Pink

Hope you enjoy and find the perfect shades for your perfect fingers! 

Leave a Reply

